Section 1 : Taxonomic Classification of Medically Important Microorganisms

MyBook is a cheap paperback edition of the original book and will be sold at uniform, low price.

Preview this chapter:
Zoom in

Taxonomic Classification of Medically Important Microorganisms, Page 1 of 2

| /docserver/preview/fulltext/10.1128/9781555817725/9781555812881_Chap01-1.gif /docserver/preview/fulltext/10.1128/9781555817725/9781555812881_Chap01-2.gif


This section talks about taxonomic classification of medically important microorganisms, which are bacteria, human viruses, fungi and parasites. In bacteria, Eubacteria have been subdivided into at least 11 divisions, including 5 with medically important organisms that include roteobacteria, "gram-positive" bacteria, spirochaetes, aerobic and anaerobic bacilli in RNA superfamily V and chlamydiae. Taxonomic classification of human viruses includes single-stranded, nonenveloped DNA viruses, double-stranded, nonenveloped DNA viruses and double-stranded, enveloped DNA viruses. The taxonomic classification of fungal organisms is complex because fungi can be classified by different methods. The correct phylogenic taxonomy for fungi is represented in the section. Fungi, or the kingdom Eumycota, are divided into four divisions: chytridomycota, zygomycota, ascomycota, and basidiomycota. Taxonomic classification of parasites talks about various kingdoms, including protozoa and chromista.

Citation: Murray P, Shea Y. 2004. Taxonomic Classification of Medically Important Microorganisms, p 1-19. In Pocket Guide to Clinical Microbiology, Third Edition. ASM Press, Washington, DC. doi: 10.1128/9781555817725.ch1
Highlighted Text: Show | Hide
Loading full text...

Full text loading...



This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Please check the format of the address you have entered.
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error